Liberal Leader Sandy Silver and his team to seek re-election this year

WHITEHORSE - Yukon Liberal Party Leader Sandy Silver announced today he will seek a second term as Premier in this year’s territorial election. Silver also announced that nine Liberal caucus members will join him in this re-election bid.

Ted Adel, Nils Clarke, Pauline Frost, Paolo Gallina, Jeanie McLean, Tracy McPhee, Richard Mostyn, Ranj Pillai, John Streicker and Sandy Silver will all run again in their current ridings. The team is joined by Dan Curtis, who is seeking nomination for territorial office in the Whitehorse Centre riding.

“I am very excited to share this news with Yukoners today,” said Sandy Silver, Yukon Liberal Party Leader. “It is excellent to see so many of our caucus members deciding to seek re-election. We work so well as a team and have made much progress so far in this mandate. We are ready to keep this good work going for the benefit of all Yukoners”

In 2016, Sandy Silver led the Yukon Liberals to a resounding majority election win, taking 11 of 19 territorial seats. Since forming government, this Liberal team has worked to make Yukoners' lives better by reducing the small business tax to zero, doubling medical travel subsidies, increasing access to mental health care and embarking on universal affordable childcare.

The Yukon Liberals have charted a new path for a modern territory by changing Yukon’s laws to respect the rights of all. They remained true to their commitment to improve First Nations relations by building positive relationships and reinvigorating the Yukon Forum. This approach to respectful government relations has made mutually beneficial progress possible for all Yukoners.

Yukoners know first hand the impacts of a warming climate and this Liberal team has made fighting climate change a priority. They signed the original plan for the Peel Watershed Land Use Plan, continued a moratorium on hydraulic fracking and have supported a strong plan to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 30 percent by 2030.

“This group of candidates is a strong foundation for our party to seek reelection this year,” added Silver. “They bring incredible experience and have shown true determination over the last four and a half years. I am continually impressed with how hard each of them has worked since taking office and I look forward to all that we can accomplish with a new mandate.”

There is no date set yet for the next territorial election. Candidates announced today:

Sandy Silver - Klondike
Ted Adel - Copperbelt North
Nils Clarke - Riverdale North
Pauline Frost - Vuntut Gwitchin
Paolo Gallina - Porter Creek Centre
Jeanie McLean (formerly Dendys) - Mountainview
Tracy McPhee - Riverdale South
Richard Mostyn - Whitehorse West
Ranj Pillai - Porter Creek South
John Streicker - Mount Lorne-Southern Lakes


Yukon Liberal Party
Mike Pemberton
(867) 334-4466
[email protected]